2003 22nd Annual Southwestern Team Disc Golf Invitational

December 6-7, 2003

Redwood Empire beats out Sylmar in the finals to win the 2003 Team Tournament. Santa Cruz wins the Spirit Of The Event award.

Team Win/Losses

	Wins	Losses Ties
Redwood Empire	8	0
Sylmar	5	3
San Diego	5	2
Santa Cruz	4	3
Arizona	4	3
Huntington Beach	2	5
Santa Barbara	1	6
Las Vegas	0	7

22rd Southwestern Team Disc Golf Invitational

This year's annual match play event hosted at Morley Field in San Diego was the most competitive Team Tourney in recent history. For the second year in a row the flu ravaged local boys were one putt from making the finals. A determined Redwood Empire captained by Mike "Magilla" Ruzika did what they said they would at the beginning of the event. They went undefeated slipping by Team SD by 1 putt in the prelims. That one putt a 40 foot "Hail Mary" thru the branches of hole eight by Winnie crew member Avery Jenkins gave him a 1 point victory on the last hole over a fill in player when a very sick Carlo Pelg had to withdraw at the #2 open spot after 2 matches. Had Avery not made the putt the 2 teams tie at 6 points each and when going to the first tie breaker of individual match points SD would have won 38-37. But great players make great shots. Redwood Empire went on to beat a very good Sylmar team 7.5-4.5 in the finals. Captained by Mike Byrne and lead by Stevie Rico and a revamped Sylmar team with new acquisitions Bobby Musick and Steve Wisecup also beat Team SD in the prelims 6.5-5.5.

Team Arizona was one of the bigger surprises of the event nearly getting into a three-way tie for second with their own one point loss to Santa Cruz 6.5-5.5 in the final round of match play. Had they won then there would have been 3 teams at 5-2. In the first tie breaker each team beat the other, but AZ won their match against Sylmar 7-5 the other wins were 6.5-5.5. So Team AZ would have been in the finals by .5 of a point. And you thought the BCS was close.

Team Huntington Beach last year's champions we're just short of the mark this year losing several critical matches 5-7 to AZ, SD, and RE and falling to 6th place this year.

Having returned with the same quality members as last year it just shows the fickle nature of 12-hole match play.

It had been announced before the event that the last place team this year would not be invited back next year so that a revitalized Team La Mirada could once again return to the limited lineup of 8 teams. To that end Las Vegas and Santa Barbara went into the last round tied both winless playing for the pride of not being the proverbial door mat. They tied 6-6 but when it went to the first tie breaker of individual match points Team Santa Barbara prevailed 41-28. Although overmatched first year team captain Alan Zammora took the defeat with dignity and equanimity and a sense of determination for retribution. He asked that his team be put back on the waiting list behind Team La Mirada(in next year) and Team Oregon due here in 2005 lead by Dave Feldberg and his fellow Oregonians.

Team Santa Cruz captained by Marty Hapner was also very competitive just barely losing several matches 5-7 to San Diego and 5-7 to Redwood Empire. But hey they did win the spirit of the event award for the second year in a row. Along with the mini basket award goes a couple of discs for each player. Last year all the team members shaved their hair into Mohawks. This year they all dyed their hair maroon with a gold stripe down the middle to match their team colors of their collared shirts, visors and towels which came in this year's player packages. They also lead team cheers had great positive attitudes and generally supported each other as team members. This Bay area crew of old time players and young new phenoms is a real class act.

Of special note after 19 years of attending this event Anni Kreml has yet to lose a match going 8-0 again this year. In all those year's she's had only one tie as well. Dano Ginnelly playing #1 open for Arizona also went undefeated this year 7-0-1 and Mike Slonim playing #3 master for San Diego went undefeated at 7-0.

The winning team members each received \$120 and 2 discs each and the second place team \$70 and 1 disc each.

Thanks to our sponsors Discraft and Innova for all the great free drawing items, donated discs for the winners and player mini's. Thanks to Lightning for the discs in the player packages. Thanks to Red Bull for the added lift we all needed on Saturday afternoon to get through 8 hours and 60 competitive holes in perfect San Diego weather. And a really big thanks to all the usual staff who run this event year in and year out. Mac at tourney central, Will on the website, Aaron, Hoon, Robert, and Chris in the shop and on the field. And special thanks to my wife for making the salad, picking up the pizza and feeding all 100+ players and staff on Saturday.

Finals scores follow:

Finals: RE v/s SM 1-Roger Cansler 2 vs. Steve Rico 4

- 2-Avery Jenkins 7 vs. Bobby Musick 4
- 3-Dave Feldberg 7 vs. Bamba Rico 2
- 4- John Child 6 vs. Dan Duron 4
- 5- Jim Tobish 7 vs. Mike Byrne 5
- 6- Mike Ruzika 7 vs. Robert Cox 3
- 7- Kevin Parkhurst 5 vs. Matt Goodwin 6
- 8-Scott Riley 5 vs. Steve Wisecup 5
- 9- Pete Sontag 3 vs. Andrew Back 6
- 10- Jeff Fiedler 10 vs. Dennis Bohannan 2
- 11- Tom Ford 1 vs. Mark Horn 6
- 12- Anni Kreml 4 vs. Beth Verish 1

Team Rosters

San Diego

- 1. Micah Dorius
- 2. Carlo Pelg/Snapper Pierson
- 3. Alex Torriente
- 4. George Spraklen
- 5. Jeff Nichols
- 6. Tom Olson
- 7. Miker Ramos
- 8. Dave Devine
- 9. Donny Olow
- 10. Mike Slonim
- 11. Glenn Triemstra
- 12. Michelle Hackett

Arizona

Dan Ginnelly

Mike Milne

Rory Self

Chris Gibbs

Jacob Vasquez

Jim Garnett

David Dollar

Lance Plummer

Russell Shelton

Scott Carle

Ted Miller

Staci Charles

Huntington Beach

Chris Brophy

Matt Roulette

Mark Collicott

Chris Kunde

Joe Garcia

Travis Reynolds

Dan Molloy

Bill Davis

Marcus Cisneros

Steve Killian

Tom Klickner

Michelle Wade

Sylmar

Steve Rico

Bobby Musick

Bamba Rico

Dan Duron

Mike Byrne

Robert Cox

Matt Goodwin

Steve Wisecup

Andrew Back

Dennis Bohanan

Mark Horn

Beth Verish

Santa Cruz

Sonny Ashby

Tony Tran

Myles Harding

Donald Smith

Jim Hagen

Jim Kroutch

Matt Voorhess

Dave LeVan

Rob Harding

Marty Hapner

Tom Schot

Carrie Berlogar

Redwood Empire

Roger Cansler

Avery Jenkins Dave Feldberg John Child Jim Tobish Mike Ruzicka Kevin Parkhurst Scott Riley Peter Sontag Jeff Fiedler Tom Ford Sr. Anni Kreml

Santa Barbara

Kevin Winn
Rich Dionne
Billy Carnaghe
Mel Mills
Jim Temple
Zack Maxem
Tom LaTorre
Hugh Montgomery
Mark Hauser
Chuck Theriot
Phil Ganshert
Kimbra Carnaghe

Las Vegas
Alan Zamora
Duane Kline
Jeff Jaquart
Cary Trotter
Scott Austin
Charles Matheson
Marc Lumos
John Kasigenis
Lanny Lacroix
Doug Emery
John Austin
Megan Stroh