2004 23rd Annual Southwestern Team Disc Golf Invitational

December 4-5, 2004

San Diego wins the 2004 Team Tournament

San Diego won 9-3 in the finals against La Mirada. There were 4 teams tied at 5-2 after the prelims. Arizona, La Mirada, San Diego, and Sylmar. So the tie breaker was points scored against each other in their head to head matches. AZ had 11.5, Sylmar had 18, La Mirada had 21, and SD had 21.5. So SD and LM faced of in the finals.

1. Micah Dorius 6 vs Bobby Musick 4

2 Carlo Pelg 5 vs Evan Rambo 4

3 CVK 5 vs Steve Wisecup 9

4 George Spracklen 6 vs Andrew Back 4

5 Alex Torrente 6 vs Sam Ferrans 4

6 Tom Olsen 5 vs Jeff Neal 7

7 Don Olow 6 vs Mark Molnar 3

8 Dave Devine 8 vs Marcus Cisneros 0

9 Mike Slonim 6 vs Robbie Wilson 4

10 Jeff Nichols 5 vs Mike Williams 7

11 Snapper Pierson 2 vs Dave Dunipace 0

12 Emily Hardy 4 vs Tita Ugalde 2

Well another Team Tourney is in the books. This year saw true parity in the event as the powerhouse new team from La Mirada stunned some of the higher rated teams to finish in a four way tie for first at 5-2 after the preliminaries. The other tied teams were Sylmar, Arizona and San Diego. The determination of who would go to the finals was settled by the tie breaker of points scored against each other in head to head matches. San Diego came out on top with 21.5 points followed by La Mirada at 21 points. The reigning champs from the Redwood Empire had a bit of bad luck their grandmaster was unable to play on Saturday morning. Their first match ended in a tie with La Mirada. But when the individual points were added up they lost by 10 points 42-32 partly due to the 12-0 forfeit at the grandmaster position. They won their second match and by their third match a local grandmaster sub had been found. Had they been at full strength for the whole event who knows how things may have turned out. A similar situation happened to San Diego last year as the flu ravaged our team and several players needed last minute substitutions.

The weather became a factor on Sunday as a storm front moved in Saturday night and brought rain throughout the day on Sunday. Cool temps and wind made for some interesting and sometimes frustrating golf. The San Diego locals struggled on Sunday morning losing to Redwood Empire for the fifth year in a row but eked out a close

victory against our weekend playing partner Santa Cruz in our final match to make the finals. Complete round scores are:

Round 1 RE 6-LM 6 (32-42) SD 8-HB 4 SM 8.5-SB 3.5 AZ 6-SC 6 (41-36)

Round 2 RE 8.5-SB 3.5 SD 8.5-AZ 3.5 SC 7-HB 5 SM 6-LM 6 (42-41)

Round 3 RE 7.5-HB 3.5 SD 7.5-LM 4.5 AZ 6-SM 6 (43-38) SC 8.5-SB 3.5

Round 4 RE 6-AZ 6 (41-44) SD 9-SB 3 SM 6.5-HB 5.5 LM 8-SC 4

Round 5 RE 4.5-SC 7.5 SD 5.5-SM 6.5 HB 7-SB 5 AZ 1.5-LM 10.5

Round 6 RE 7.5-SD 4.5 SM 6.5-SC 5.5 HB 4.5-LM 7.5 AZ 9-SB 3

Round 7 RE 8-SM 4 SD 6.5-SC 5.5 AZ 8-HB 4 LM 8-SB 4 Finals: SD 9-LM 3

This years "Spirit of the Event" winners were the awesome team from Santa Cruz headed by Marty Hapner. This is their second year running winning this award (perpetual trophy and 3 discs each). All the players wore red head coverings except their woman Burl who has dyed red hair. They do everything together as a unit and even have team cheers. Although this year Redwood Empire stepped up to the plate and brought doughnuts on Sunday morning for all the teams and Jim Tobish made a presentation of some beautiful silver mugs to myself and Marty Hapner that simply read "Thanks Snapper" and "Thanks Marty". His rousing and endearing speech gave his team a huge leg up on winning the spirit award next year.

This years player package included a hooded sweat in team colors and embroidered golf towel, 2 minis, customed stamped Aviar, #2 driver, lunch on Saturday, entrance to free drawing, and weekend playing pass.

Thank you's go out to Innova Champion Discs, Discraft Discs, Lightning Discs and Tom Schott Sports all of whom donated stuff for the players pack or free drawing. Special thanks to Jim McDowell who's been the TD for all 24 years running of this event. Thanks to my guys in the shop who helped Chris, Adazm, Trey and Aaron. We had a great field staff this year of Bobby Martin, Chris Givens, Dirty Wallace and Aaron Marxsen. Special thanks to my wife for making the salad and filling in at the shop on her day off. And a special thanks to Kent LaGree for all his help running lunch and helping at friz central.

I have to say in all my years running this event this year seemed to have the best overall team spirit and camaraderie I can remember. All the team captains are to be congratulated for doing such a great job of putting together teams that were both competitive and fun spirited. I can't remember seeing so many smiles on so many faces as I saw this weekend. If Bill Wright's correct and the most fun wins we had a lot of winners here in San Diego this weekend. Till next year...

Snap out

Team Rosters

San Diego

- 1 Micah Dorius
- 2 Carlo Pelg
- 3 Chuck Van Kempen
- 4 George Spracklen
- 5 Alex Torriente
- 6 Tom Olsen
- 7 Don Olow

- 8 Dave Devine
- 9 Mike Slonim
- 10 Jeff Nichols
- 11 Snapper Pierson
- 12 Emily Hardy

Arizona

- 1 Dan Ginnelly
- 2 Rory Self
- 3 Lance Plummer
- 4 Jacob Vasques
- 5 Mike Downes
- 6 Zack Walker
- 7 Jim Garnett
- 8 Scott Carle
- 9 Russel Shelton
- 10 Keith Johnson
- 11 Harvey Brandt
- 12 Lisa Reisch

Huntington Beach

- 1 Chris Brophy
- 2 Chris Kunde
- 3 Matt Roulette
- 4 Joe Garcia
- 5 Travis Reynolds
- 6 Kyle Crabtree
- 7 Robert McIntee
- 8 Mark Collicot
- 9 Bill Davis
- 10 Steve Killian
- 11 Tom Clickner
- 12 Emenia Weaver

Sylmar

- 1 Steve Rico
- 2 Bamba Rico
- 3 Ken McKelvey
- 4 Dan Duron
- 5 Mike Byrne
- 6 Pat Sweeney
- 7 Gary Sandoval
- 8 Mike Raley
- 9 Robert Cox
- 10 Dennis Bohanan
- 11 Graham Walker

11 Beth Verish

Santa Cruz

- 1 Nate Doss
- 2 Jim Hagan
- 3 Matt Voorhes
- 4 John Baldwin
- 5 Chris Foss
- 6 Jack Trageser
- 7 John Steele
- 8 Marty Hapner
- 9 Rob Harding
- 10 Dave LeVan
- 11 Hunt Hyde
- 12 Carrie Burlogar

Redwood Empire

- 1 John Child
- 2 Dave Feldberg
- 3 Avery Jenkins
- 4 Roger Cansler
- 5 Jim Tobish
- 6 Mike Ruzicka
- 7 Kevin Parkhurst
- 8 Scott Riley
- 9 Peter Sontag
- 10 Jeff Fiedler
- 11 David Welty
- 12 Anni Kreml

Santa Barbara

- 1 Chuck Theriot
- 2 Freddie Sotelo
- 3 Mel Mills
- 4 Tom LaTorre
- 5 Jesse Chambless
- 6 Rich Dionne
- 7 Kevin Miller
- 8 Billy Carnaghe
- 9 Mark Hauser
- 10 Chris Carnaghe
- 11 Phil Ganshert
- 12 Kimbra Carnaghe

La Mirada

- 1 Bobby Musick
- 2 Evan Rambo
- 3 Steve Wisecup
- 4 Andrew Back
- 5 Sam Ferrans
- 6 Jeff Neal
- 7 Mark Molnar
- 8 Marcus Cisneros
- 9 Robbie Wilson
- 10 Mike Williams
- 11 Dave Dunipace
- 12 Tita Ugalde

Team Win/Losses will be here.

Wins	Losses	Ties	
Redwood Emp	oire	4	3
Sylmar	5	2	
San Diego	7	1	
Santa Cruz	3	4	
Arizona	5	2	
Huntington Be	each	1	6
Santa Barbara	0	7	
La Mirada	5	3	