# 2006 25th Annual Southwestern Team Disc Golf Invitational

December 2-3, 2006

San Diego Wins 2006 Team Tournament

In the finals Micah Dorius beat Dave Feldberg 5-4. Carlo Pelg beat Avery Jenkins 9-2. Alex Torriente lost to Andrew Rich 6-2

Mike Slonim beat Chris Sprague 6-2. Dave Vincent lost to Nate Sexton 6-3 and Mike Ramos beat Lane Mason 8-3. Jeff Nichols beat Mike Ruzicka on the final hole with a 35' sidearm 4-3 and Glenn Triemstra was beat by Tom Embree 6-3. Dave Devine lost to Doug Saulter 5-2 and CVK tied Buck Smith 4-4. I beat Kurt Bayne 6-1 and Emily Hardy lost to Kathy Manley 3-2.

Individually SD players:

Micah 5-1-2

Carlo4-3-1

Alex3-3-2

Mike S 4-3-1

Dave V 6-2

Miker 7-1

Jeff 6-1-1

Glenn 5-3

Dave D 3-4-1

CVK 6-0-2

Snapper 5-1-2

Emily 6-2

This year's team tourney celebrated our silver anniversary even though it was our 26th year. The players eached received a quater zipped sueded plush sweat in team colors ,commemorative T shirt, minis, disc, lunch, weekend player pass and entrance to the free drawing. The weather was perfect light breezes mid 70's and low humidity. The players were met with a short duece or die course that led to some incredible shots as players were forced by the match play format to make long runs when their opponent was close. Team camaraderie was evident everywhere with Team Santa Cruz looking sharp in their white dry fit collared team shirts taking "spirit of the event" honors again this year. This is 3 out of the last 4 years they won the spirit trophy and discs that go with it. The putting contest on Friday night saw Scott Riley from Redwood Empire go all the way to Bambaland (station 9) in the prelims and win the \$100 first prize making his last of 3 putts from each of the last 4 stations. Santa Cruz phenom Miles Harding got the \$75 second place by making it through station 8. Dave LeVan and Kyle Crabtree tied for 3rd and received \$45 each and Chris Sprague was 5th and received \$35. First place San

Diego players earned \$200 each plus 3 discs for their efforts while 2nd place Oregon received \$70 each plus 2 discs each. We'd like to thank staff, Will on the web, Kent who did art and lunch, Mac as TD, Donny the cleaning machine, Chef Aaron on setup all weekend, and Tommy the mower rider and his dad Don for spotting. My whole shop staff (Aaron, Steve, Rob, Mitch, Dan, Eddie, Adam, Brandon and Ken)helped out on prep work. Thanks also to our sponsors Discraft, Innova Champion, DGA, and Lightning. This was our most competitive team event we've had to date. Each team was a force to be reckoned with. Team Oregon in their first year here went undefeated to the finals after lossing their first 2 matches to the top 2 seeds and just barely lost to the homies in the finals. Next year the same teams will be invited back as all were fine representatives for their respective areas.

#### **Team Rosters**

## San Diego

- 1Micah Dorius
- 2 Carlo Pelg
- 3 Alex Torriente
- 4 Mike Slonim
- 5 Dave Vincent
- 6 Miker Ramos
- 7 Jeff Nichols
- 8 Glenn Triemstra
- 9 Dave Devine
- 10 Chuck Van Kempen
- 11 Snapper pierson
- 12 Emily Hardy

#### Santa Cruz

- 1 Nate Doss
- 2 Miles Harding
- 3 Don Smith
- 4 Jim Hagen
- 5 Matt Vorhees
- 6 Steve Lonhart
- 7 Stan Pratt
- 8 Rob Harding
- 9 Jack Trageser
- 10 Marty Hapner
- 11 Dave LeVan
- 12 Carrie Berlager

## **Redwood Empire**

- 1 Roger Cansler
- 2 John Childs

- 3 Greg Barsby
- 4 Kevin Parkhurst
- 5 Harold Hampton
- 6 Bob Montes
- 7 Josh Sappenfield
- 8 Geoff Feidler
- 9 Peter Sontag
- 10 Scott Riley
- 11 David Welty
- 12 Anni Kreml

## **Huntington Beach**

- 1 Robert McIntee
- 2 Chris Kunde
- 3 Tyler A.
- 4 Ari Aganasan
- 5 Chris Brophy
- 6 Danny Rubio
- 7 Matt Roulette
- 8 Bill Davis
- 9 Steve Killian
- 10 Travis Reynolds
- 11 Tom Clickner
- 12 Kathy Downing

#### **Sylmar**

- 1 Steve Rico
- 2 Kyle Crabtree
- 3 Ken McKelvey
- 4 Wally Moore
- 5 Bamba Rico
- 6 Phil Brathwaite
- 7 Gary Sandoval
- 8 Mike Raley
- 9 Mike Byrne
- 10 Robert Cox
- 11 Mark Horn
- 12 Tracey Thorpe

#### La Mirada

- 1 Sam Ferrans
- 2 Richard Thompson
- 3 Steve Wisecup
- 4 Martin Padilla
- 5 Mark Molnar
- 6 Jeff Neil

- 7 Noah Rodriguez
- 8 Marcus Cisneros
- 9 Mike Williams
- 10 Chuck Theriot
- 11 Dave Dunipace
- 12 Suzette Simmons

#### Arizona

- 1 Dan Ginnelly
- 2 Chris Kirby
- 3 David Dollar
- 4 David Young
- 5 Zach Walker
- 6 Jason Allind
- 7 Mike Downes
- 8 Rory Self
- 9 Lance Plummer
- 10 Russel Shelton
- 11 Harvey Brandt
- 12 Sara Lange

## Oregon

- 1 Dave Feldberg
- 2 Avery Jenkins
- 3 Andrew Rich
- 4 Chris Sprague
- 5 Nate Sexton
- 6 Lane Mason
- 7 Mike Ruzicka
- 8 Tom Embree
- 9 Buck Smith
- 10 Doug Saulter
- 11 Kurt Bayne
- 12 Kathy Manley

Team Win/Losses Round 1 SD 8 vs Or 4 SC 9.5 vs AZ 2.5 SM 7.5 vs" HB 4.5 RE 5.5 vs" LM 6.5

Round 2 SD 10.5 vs AZ 1.5 SC 6(39)vs OR 6 (38) SM 6(38) vs RE 6(35) HB 6.5 vs LM 5.5

Round 3 SD 10 vsLM 2 SC 3.5 vs SM 8.5 OR 8 vsRE 4 HB 7.5 vs AZ 4.5

Round 4 SD 7.5 vs SM 4.5 SC 7 vs RE 5 OR 9 vs HB 3 RE 9 vs AZ 3

Round 5 SD 8.5 vs HB 3.5 SC 5.5 vs RE 6.5 OR 8 vs SM 4 LM 3 vs AZ 9

Round 6 SD 8 vs RE 4 SC 8 vs HB 4 OR 9 vs LM 3 SM 9 vs AZ 3

Round 7 SD 6(38vs SC 6(37) OR 8.5 vs AZ 3.5 HB 3.5 vs RE 8.5 SM 8 vs LM 4

Finals: SD 6.5 vs OR 5.5

1 San Diego 8-0 2 Oregon 5-3 3 Sylmar 5-2 4 Santa Cruz 4-3 5 Redwood Empire 3-4 6 Huntington Beach 2-5 7 Arizona 1-6 8 La Mirada 1-6